The 2013 Grande Pinnacle and Award of Excellence winner: the Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park, Welfare Island, East River, New York, New York.Join natural stone professionals from around the world in entering the 2014 MIA Pinnacle Awards competition.          

These highly coveted awards are given to projects whose beauty, creativity, ingenuity, and craftsmanship exemplify professional mastery in the use of natural stone in commercial and residential environments. As a Pinnacle Award winner, you will receive widespread recognition for your professional accomplishments.

The Grande Pinnacle Award, sponsored by Marmomacc, has become the world’s most important stone show. The Pinnacle Award winner from the Commercial Interior, Commercial Exterior, Residential/Exterior, Residential Interior or Renovation/Restoration categories that is selected as the best across all categories will receive the Grande Pinnacle Award which is designed and crafted in Verona, Italy. 

The award also entitles the winner to round-trip economy airfare, 5-nights hotel room, meals and registration to Marmomacc 2015, as well as other perks such as an invitation to the gala dinner that closes the world’s largest stone show. The Grande Pinnacle Award is created by Tobia Scarpa, an award-winning architect, designer, and restoration specialist.

Grande Pinnacle Award 

Marmomacc will also present a Grande Pinnacle Award to the architect from the firm involved in the winning project. In addition, the architect will win a trip to Marmomacc to attend Veronafiere’s week-long continuing education program on designing with natural stone. The winner will receive round-trip economy airfare and complimentary hotel for five nights, as well as local meals and transportation, while taking part in this 20+ LU program. 

All Pinnacle Award of Excellence and Award of Merit winners now have the opportunity to invite an architect from the firm involved in their winning project to StonExpo/Marmomacc Americas 2014. 

With the generous support of Hanley Wood Exhibitions, these award-receiving architects will receive 3 nights lodging in Las Vegas and will be invited to a VIP reception. Also, Veronafiere will invite the winning architects to take part in a full-day educational program held during StonExpo/Marmomacc Americas (the program offers 5+LUs and includes complimentary lunch and dinner). (Note: Airfare to Las Vegas is not included).

2014 Award Categories

A distinguished panel of judges will bestow Awards of Excellence, and, as deemed appropriate, Awards of Merit, in the following categories:

  • Commercial Interior
  • Commercial Exterior
  • Residential Interior/Exterior
  • Renovation/Restoration


The Pinnacle Awards are open to all MIA member companies. Project teams must include at least one MIA member company. Projects submitted must comply with MIA standards as defined in MIA’s Dimension Stone Design Manual and MIA Technical Modules.

Eligibility Period

To be eligible, projects must have been completed within the past three years (January, 2011 to July 2014). Multiple entries are accepted and encouraged. Please fill out a separate entry form for each project.

General Entry Rules & Entry Forms have been available since April 1, 2014.

Deadline to apply: August 1, 2014

For more information on any of the other Pinnacle Award winners, please visit the website