2018 Tucker Design AwardsThe 12 winning projects of the 2018 Tucker Design Awards were honored during a ceremony at the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts in San Antonio, Texas on February 25.

The recipient of the 2018 Bybee Prize, Carol R. Johnson, FASLA, was also celebrated during the ceremony.

The 2018 Tucker Design Award winners are:

2018 Tucker Design AwardsMikyoung Kim Design

       Boston Children’s Hospital

       Boston, MA

2018 Tucker Design AwardsWoods Bagot, Perth Studio

       Brookfield Place Tower 2

       Perth, Australia

2018 Tucker Design AwardsVMDO Architects

       Buckingham County Primary & Elementary Schools
       at the Carter G. Woodson Education Complex

       Buckingham, VA

2018 Tucker Design AwardsPage

       University of Texas Dell Medical School Health Learning Building

       Austin, TX

2018 Tucker Design AwardsTreanor HL 

       Kansas Statehouse Exterior Masonry Restoration

       Topeka, KS

2018 Tucker Design AwardsHBRA Architects

       Lincoln Park House

       Chicago, IL

2018 Tucker Design AwardsGustafson Guthrie Nichol

       National Museum of African American History and Culture

       Washington, DC

2018 Tucker Design AwardsGustafson Guthrie Nichol

       The Park at CityCenter 

       Washington, DC

2018 Tucker Design Awards1100 Architects

       Perry World House

       Philadelphia, PA

2018 Tucker Design AwardsBVH Architecture

       Saint John Paul II Newman Center

       Omaha, NE

2018 Tucker Design AwardsBohlin Cywinski Jackson

       Sawyer Library at Williams College

       Williamstown, MA

2018 Tucker Design AwardsAtelier Alter

       Yingliang Stone Archive

       Beijing, China

2018 James Daniel Bybee Prize

CarolJohnson and Harbor ParkThe 2018 Bybee Prize, named in honor of the late James Daniel Bybee, has been awarded to Carol R. Johnson for her distinguished body of work executed over her long career,  exemplified by her outstanding design and use of natural stone. 

Born in Elizabeth, New Jersey, Carol R. Johnson graduated from Wellesley College in 1951 and earned a landscape architecture degree from Harvard in 1957. Hired by The Architects Collaborative (TAC) in 1958, she started her own practice only one year later, at a time when there were few women landscape architects working on urban design and planning issues.

For more than 50 years, Johnson has maintained a diversified professional  practice in the areas of landscape architecture and site planning. Typical work she has overseen for projects in the U.S. and abroad includes site development, open space and recreation planning, master planning and urban development for municipalities, schools, colleges and universities, corporations and public agencies.

From 1966 to 1973, Johnson taught in the Planning Department at Harvard’s Graduate School of Design. She has lectured at many colleges and universities in the U.S. and abroad and is also a frequent panel participant and commentator on landscape design issues. She became a Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects in 1982, and in 1998 was the first American woman to receive the ASLA Gold Medal.

Johnson serves on the Board of Designators for the George B. Henderson Foundation and on the Massachusetts Trustees of Reservations Landscape and Historic Buildings Advisors Committee.

She is also a Trustee for the Hubbard Educational Trust (founded to further education in landscape architecture throughout the U.S.).

For 10 years she was a City of Boston Civic Design Commissioner. Johnson is the recipient of honorary degrees from The Boston Architectural College, Wentworth Institute of Technology, and Gettysburg College.

Beyond the positive impact of her work on the public, Johnson’s contribution can be measured by the influence which she  has had on new generations of landscape architects.

She is recognized as a role model, especially for young women entering the profession.

Johnson retired in  June 2016.